News and Events Archive

A. Elizabeth Taylor Prize from the Southern Association for Women Historians(2014-04-09)

The Southern Association for Women Historians invites submissions for the A. Elizabeth Taylor Prize, which is awarded annually for the best article published during the preceding year in the field of southern women’s history. Articles published in journals and anthologies between January 1, 2013, and December 31, 2013 are eligible. Entries must be written in English, but the competition is open to works published outside the U.S. Editors, authors, and other scholars are invited to nominate eligible articles for the prize.

The Taylor Prize carries a cash award of $500 and will be announced at the SAWH annual address in Atlanta, Georgia in November 2014.

To nominate an article for the Taylor Prize, please submit a copy to each of the following, postmarked no later than May 1, 2014:

Sara Sundberg, Chair
Department of History and Anthropology
Wood Bldg 136
University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg, MO 64093

Cherisse Jones-Branch
Department of History
Arkansas State University
P.O. Box 1690
State University, AR 72467

Barbara Krauthamer
History Department, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
161 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003

To ask questions about the Taylor Prize, you may contact the SAWH executive secretary at

Newspaper IconClick here to view more AHS news.